20. JUNE 2024

cellcentric starts pilot production of fuel cell systems

  • Pilot production an important step towards CO2-neutral mobility in heavy-duty transport
  • Development phase and prototype production are now followed by the first stage of highly efficient industrial grade production
  • cellcentric is a pioneer in Europe with the aim of producing fuel cell systems on an industrial scale with a high level of vertical integration
  • A complete fuel cell system from a single source as step towards large-scale automotive production of fuel cell systems
  • Next step towards preparing Europe’s largest fuel cell production in a new factory in Weilheim towards the end of the decade

Esslingen/Germany – A key milestone for the climate-neutral transport of tomorrow: cellcentric inaugurates pilot production for fuel cell systems at the Esslingen-Pliensauvorstadt site, taking another significant step towards large-scale production. cellcentric is working towards supplying fuel cells on a large scale by the end of the decade, when fuel cell powered long-haul heavy-duty trucks are predicted to become a key technology for sustainable transportation.

cellcentric’s goal is to develop, produce and distribute fuel cell systems on a large scale in the German state of Baden-Wuerttemberg that achieve the best possible total cost of ownership (TCO) in the highly competitive transportation industry. In addition, cellcentric intends to cover the entire fuell cell ecosystem – from the product itself to maintenance and recycling at the end of its life cycle.

“Fuel cell technology is a well-proven solution for CO2-neutral long-distance heavy-duty transportation. However, it has not yet been produced on an industrial scale, which is precisely the key to achieving economies of scale, optimizing the total cost of ownership (TCO) and putting cellcentric in a solid competitive position in the long term,” says Lars Johansson, Chief Commercial Officer and Chief Organizational Officer of cellcentric GmbH & Co. KG. “The opening of our pilot production facility in Esslingen today is not the end point of large-scale production, but rather the blueprint for the next step. In the coming years, we will continue to consistently drive forward the industrialization and scaling of production of fuel cell systems at the Weilheim site,” explains Johansson.

On June 20th, Lars Johansson and the cellcentric management team welcomed numerous guests from politics, business, associations, science and research to the opening ceremony, including Baden-Wuerttemberg state ministers Dr. Nicole Hoffmeister-Kraut (Economics, Labor and Housing) and Thekla Walker (Environment, Climate and Energy) as well as Heinz Eininger, the district administrator of Esslingen, and the mayors of Esslingen, Matthias Klopfer, and Weilheim, Johannes Zuefle.

Fuel cell systems for sustainable heavy goods transport on the way to mass production

cellcentric’s modern production facility in Esslingen-Pliensauvorstadt is the ideal location to produce fuel cell systems. More than 100 employees have over 10,300 square meters of production, logistics and office/administration space at their disposal. The property in the immediate vicinity of the federal highway 10 is part of the Esslingen industrial park greenfield.

In a next step, cellcentric will establish the necessary production processes at the site to prepare for the start of a large-scale production of fuel cell systems with a high degree of vertical integration. With complete production at one location and a high level of automation, the company secures stable long-term economic development.

The complete process chain comprises the following production steps:

  • Ink Mixing & Coating – Precise mixing of the various raw materials to produce a dispersion for subsequent roll coating.
  • Membrane Electrode Assembly (MEA) – The roll-to-piece process assembles and puts together the components of the individual cell in a highly automated process in a cycle time suitable for large-scale production.
  • Sealing – Injection molding process applies seals in fully automated process.
  • Stacking – Automated stacking of the complete fuel cell stack.
  • Assembly – All modules of the fuel cell system are assembled according to automotive mass production standards.
  • Inline Quality Testing – Strict automated inspection and quality control protocol that accompanies all steps in the production process to identify and rectify faults quickly and reliably. It ensures continuous compliance with all quality requirements until the product is ready for delivery.

Fuel cell ecosystem beyond the product life cycle

In addition to the development and production of fuel cell systems for heavy-duty transportation, cellcentric will create a complete ecosystem around the highly complex assemblies. This will provide customers with products of unique quality while enabling seamless integration of the drive solutions into the vehicle management system. Moreover, a comprehensive service package including all maintenance and repair services will ensure that maintenance-related downtimes and unforeseen failures or breakdowns are reduced to a minimum for users – an important criterion in the transport industry for the best possible utilization of vehicle capacity.

Ultimately, cellcentric is planning an environmentally friendly return of the fuel cell systems at the end of their life cycle, in line with the company’s commitment to the highest possible level of sustainability in all corporate processes. Based on the concept of the circular economy, cellcentric’s cyclical approach aims to use resources, materials and products as considerately and sparingly as possible in four steps:

These include the Reuse of decommissioned fuel cell systems for other applications with a lower requirement profile, Refurbishment, a reconditioning and recycling of fuel cell systems for a longer useful service life, Remanufacturing – the total overhaul to refurbish and make the systems as good as new again -, and the recovery of raw materials and reuse in new fuel cell production through Recycling.

Sustainable propulsion technology for global heavy-duty transportation

In May 2024, cellcentric presented its smaller, more powerful and efficient NextGen fuel cell system for sustainable hydrogen-powered long-haul trucks for the first time at the ACT Expo in Las Vegas, USA. In addition, with the BZA150 fuel cell generation, the company has a close to series production and already practical pilot product that has been successfully tested by the truck manufacturers Daimler Truck and Volvo Group in demanding field tests. Series production of the NextGen fuel cell system is scheduled to begin at the end of the decade.

Further pictures are available for download at:
https://cellcentric.net/en/media/

About cellcentric

cellcentric develops, produces, and markets fuel cell systems for use in heavy-duty commercial vehicles as the focus as well as for other areas of application outside vehicles. cellcentric is a joint venture founded in 2021 between Daimler Truck AG and the Volvo Group. The company utilizes the know-how and extensive experience gained from decades of developing fuel cell systems by its predecessor companies. cellcentric’s goal is to become a leading global manufacturer of fuel cells and thus making a contribution to climate-neutral and sustainable transportation by 2050. More than 520 highly qualified employees are driving our state-of-the-art fuel cell technology forward. They work in interdisciplinary teams at our sites in Nabern, Stuttgart-Untertuerkheim, Esslingen (Germany) and Burnaby (Canada). Around 700 individual patents granted, underline the company’s leading role in technological development.

Contact cellcentric

Christian Kleinert
+49 (0)175 5337198
christian.kleinert@cellcentric.net

Weitere News

3. June 2024
cellcentric announces its NextGen fuel cell system
8. May 2024
ACT Expo – cellcentric showcases fuel cell tailormadefor long-haul trucks
11. April 2024
Give office furniture a second life! cellcentric donation campaign for Lebenshilfe Kirchheim e. V.

20. JUNI 2024

cellcentric startet Pilotfertigung von Brennstoffzellensystemen

  • Wichtiger Schritt zur CO2-neutralen Mobilität im Schwerlastverkehr
  • Auf Forschungsphase und Prototypenfertigung folgt erste Etappe zur hocheffizienten Großserienproduktion
  • Vorreiter in Europa mit Ziel der Produktion von Brennstoffzellensystemen im industriellen Maßstab bei hoher Fertigungstiefe
  • Ein komplettes Brennstoffzellensystem aus einer Hand als Schritt zur automobilen Großserienfertigung von Brennstoffzellensystemen
  • Zwischenetappe auf dem Weg zu Europas größter Brennstoffzellenproduktion am Standort Weilheim bis Ende des Jahrzehnts

Esslingen/Deutschland – Meilenstein für den klimaneutralen Transport von Morgen: cellcentric eröffnet am Standort Esslingen-Pliensauvorstadt die Pilotfertigung für Brennstoffzellensysteme und macht damit einen weiteren wichtigen Schritt in Richtung der Großserienfertigung. Bis Ende des Jahrzehnts entstehen hier Lösungen für mit Brennstoffzellensystemen betriebene Langstrecken-Trucks, die als Schlüsseltechnologie die nachhaltige Mobilitätswende im Schwerlast- und Speditionsverkehr voranbringen sollen.

Ziel von cellcentric ist es, in Baden-Württemberg Antriebslösungen in Großserie zu entwickeln, zu bauen und weltweit zu vertreiben, die in der wettbewerbsintensiven Transportbranche die bestmögliche Total Cost of Ownership (TCO) erzielen. Darüber hinaus plant cellcentric das gesamte Ökosystem rund um Brennstoffzellensysteme – vom Produkt, über die Wartung bis zur Wiederverwertung am Ende des Lebenszyklus – abzudecken.

„Die Brennstoffzellen-Technologie ist eine inzwischen praxiserprobte Lösung für den emissionsfreien Langstrecken-Schwerlastverkehr. Bisher erfolgte jedoch keine Fertigung im industriellen Maßstab. Genau darin liegt aber der Schlüssel, um Skaleneffekte zu erzielen, die Total Cost of Ownership (TCO) zu optimieren und cellcentric langfristig eine solide Wettbewerbsposition zu verschaffen“, sagt Lars Johansson, Chief Commercial Officer und Chief Organizational Officer der cellcentric GmbH & Co. KG. „Die heutige Eröffnung unserer Pilotfertigung in Esslingen stellt dabei nicht den Endpunkt der Großserienproduktion dar, sondern bildet die Blaupause für den nächsten Schritt. Am Standort Weilheim werden wir in den kommenden Jahren die Industrialisierung und Skalierung der Herstellung von Brennstoffzellensystemen konsequent weiter vorantreiben“, präzisiert Johansson.

Zur Eröffnungsfeier am 20. Juni begrüßten Lars Johansson und die cellcentric-Führungsriege zahlreiche Gäste aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Verbänden sowie Wissenschaft & Forschung, darunter die baden-württembergischen Ministerinnen Dr. Nicole Hoffmeister-Kraut (Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Wohnungsbau) und Thekla Walker (Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft) sowie Heinz Eininger, Landrat von Esslingen, und die Bürgermeister von Esslingen, Matthias Klopfer, und Weilheim, Johannes Zuefle.

Brennstoffzellensysteme für den nachhaltigen Schwerlastverkehr auf dem Weg zur Großserienfertigung

cellcentric verfügt mit der modernen Fertigungsstätte Esslingen-Pliensauvorstadt über den idealen Standort für die Produktion von Brennstoffzellensystemen. Den mehr als 100 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern stehen zirka 10.300 Quadratmeter Produktions- und Logistikfläche sowie Büro- und Verwaltungsräume zur Verfügung. Das Grundstück in unmittelbarer Nähe zur Bundesstraße 10 gehört zum greenfield Gewerbepark Esslingen.

cellcentric wird im nächsten Schritt die notwendigen Fertigungsprozesse an dem Standort etablieren, um den Großserienanlauf von Brennstoffzellensystemen in hoher Fertigungstiefe vorzubereiten. Dank Komplettproduktion unter einem Dach und hohem Automatisierungsgrad erwartet das Unternehmen zudem eine hervorragende Wertschöpfung, die eine langfristig stabile wirtschaftliche Entwicklung sicherstellt.

Die komplette Prozesskette umfasst folgende Fertigungsschritte:

  • Ink Mixing & Coating – Präzise Mischung der verschiedenen Rohstoffe zur Herstellung einer Dispersion zur anschließenden Rollenbeschichtung.
  • Membrane Electrode Assembly (MEA) – Rollen-zu-Einzelzellfertigung führt die Komponenten der Einzelzelle in großserientauglicher Taktzeit hochautomatisiert zusammen.
  • Sealing – Spritzgussprozess bringt die Dichtungen im vollautomatisierten Verfahren auf.
  • Stacking – Automatisiertes Stapeln des kompletten Brennstoffzellen-Stacks.
  • Montage – Alle Baugruppen des Brennstoffzellensystems werden nach automobilen Großserienstandards zusammengeführt.
  • Inline Quality Testing – Strenges automatisiertes Prüfprotokoll, das sämtliche Schritte im Produktionsprozess begleitet, um Fehler schnell und zuverlässig zu identifizieren und abzustellen. Es sichert die kontinuierliche Einhaltung sämtlicher Qualitätsanforderungen bis zum auslieferungsfertigen Produkt.

Brennstoffzellen-Ökosystem über die Lebensdauer der Produkte hinaus

cellcentric wird über die Entwicklung und die Produktion der Brennstoffzellensysteme für den Schwerlastverkehr hinaus ein komplettes Ökosystem rund um die hochkomplexen Baugruppen etablieren. So bekommen Kunden nicht nur Produkte in einzigartiger Qualitätsgüte, sondern erhalten auch eine nahtlose Integration der Antriebslösungen in das Fahrzeugmanagement. Darüber hinaus soll ein umfassendes Servicepaket inklusive aller Wartungs- und Instandhaltungsdienste sicherstellen, dass für die Nutzer wartungsbedingte Standzeiten und unvorhergesehene Ausfälle auf ein Minimum reduziert werden – wichtiges Kriterium in der Transportbranche für eine bestmögliche Auslastung der Fahrzeuge.

Schließlich plant cellcentric entsprechend seinem festverankerten Engagement zu höchstmöglicher Nachhaltigkeit in allen unternehmerischen Prozessen eine umweltfreundliche Rückführung der Brennstoffzellensysteme zum Ende des Lebenszyklus. Im Sinne der Kreislaufwirtschaft zielt das Circular Economy Konzept des Unternehmens in vier Schritten auf einen möglichst schonenden Umgang mit Ressourcen, Materialien und Produkten:

  • Reuse – Einsatz ausgedienter Brennstoffzellensysteme für andere Anwendungen mit leichterem Anforderungsprofil.
  • Refurbishment – Wiederaufbereitung für eine längere Lebensdauer.
  • Remanufacturing – komplette Überholung zum neuwertigen System.
  • Recycling – Rückgewinnung von Rohstoffen und deren Wiederverwendung in der Brennstoffzellen-Herstellung.

Nachhaltige Antriebslösungen für den Schwerlastverkehr weltweit

Im Mai 2024 stellte cellcentric auf der ACT Expo in Las Vegas, USA, erstmals sein kompakteres, leistungsstärkeres und effizienteres NextGen-Brennstoffzellensystem für nachhaltig mit Wasserstoff betriebene Langstrecken-Trucks vor. Darüber hinaus verfügt das Unternehmen mit der Brennstoffzellengeneration BZA150 über ein seriennahes und bereits praxistaugliches Pilotprodukt, das von den Lkw-Herstellern Daimler Truck und Volvo Group in anspruchsvollen Feldtests erfolgreich getestet wurde. Der Beginn der Serienproduktion des NextGen-Brennstoffzellen-Systems ist für das Ende des Jahrzehnts geplant.

Weitere Bilder liegen zum Download unter: https://cellcentric.net/en/media/

Über cellcentric

cellcentric entwickelt, produziert und vermarktet Brennstoffzellensysteme für den Einsatz in schweren Nutzfahrzeugen als Hauptfokus sowie für weitere Anwendungsgebiete außerhalb von Fahrzeugen. cellcentric ist ein Joint Venture der Daimler Truck AG und der Volvo Group, das 2021 gegründet wurde. Das Unternehmen nutzt das Know-how und die umfassende Erfahrung aus mehreren Jahrzehnten Entwicklungsarbeit an Brennstoffzellen bei seinen Vorgängerunternehmen. cellcentric verfolgt das Ziel ein weltweit führender Hersteller von Brennstoffzellen zu werden und damit zu einem klimaneutralen und nachhaltigen Transport bis zum Jahr 2050 beizutragen. Mehr als 520 hochqualifizierte Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter treiben die hochmoderne Brennstoffzellentechnologie weiter voran. Sie arbeiten in interdisziplinären Teams an Standorten in Nabern, Stuttgart-Untertürkheim, Esslingen (Deutschland) und Burnaby (Kanada). Rund 700 Einzelpatente wurden erteilt, was die führende Rolle des Unternehmens bei der technologischen Entwicklung unterstreicht.

Ansprechpartner cellcentric

Christian Kleinert
+49 (0)175 5337198
christian.kleinert@cellcentric.net

Weitere News

3. Juni 2024
cellcentric kündigt sein NextGen-Brennstoffzellensystem an
8. Mai 2024
ACT Expo: cellcentric feiert Debüt in Nordamerika und präsentiert maßgeschneiderte Brennstoffzelle für Langstrecken-Trucks
11. April 2024
Gib Büromöbeln ein zweites Leben! cellcentric-Spendenaktion für Lebenshilfe Kirchheim e.V.